The Family Dynamic

Hadley LOVES the Divergent books and movies.

There are five societal divisions that classify citizens based on their aptitudes and values. The factions are Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), Erudite (the intelligent), Abnegation (the selfless), and Candor (the honest). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds take an aptitude test and must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives.

The main character’s result indicates that she doesn’t fit neatly into any of the five factions, meaning that she is “divergent.” She has equal aptitude for Erudite, Dauntless and Abnegation. But tensions between the five factions are mounting, and there is fear and danger in being divergent, which means she has to keep her true nature secret at all costs.

Hadley had each of our family members take an online quiz to determine where we would belong.

She and I are Dauntless.

Bode is Abnegation.

Jamie was the final one to take the quiz and his result was Divergent, which he took in stride.

“That means I rule them all.”

I’ll second that fear.

Other Posts